• English Spanish

Downloads

Definitions in the GDL

Immediate family shall include parents, grandparents, brothers, sisters, stepbrothers, stepsisters, and adopted or foster children residing in the driver’s household.   Parent shall include a foster parent, stepparent or adoptive parent.  Grandparent shall include a foster grandparent, step grandparent or adoptive grandparent.

Qualified driving instructor is defined as an instructor who has a valid driver education endorsement on a teaching certificate issued by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, or a driver-training instructor employed by a private driver education program.

Qualified person is a parent, legal guardian or certified trainer with a federal residential job-training program.

Missouri Statutes

Seat Belts

307.178.1 – Newly licensed drivers younger than 18 years of age operating or riding in a motor vehicle must wear a properly adjusted and fastened safety belt.

Night Driving

302.178 – Prohibits new teen drivers younger than 18 from driving between the hours of 1 AM and 5 AM, except from a school activity, job or for an emergency, unless accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years old or older.

Passengers

302.178 – Newly licensed drivers can only have one passenger under the age of 19 during the first 6 months of licensure, excluding immediate family. After the first 6 months, the newly licensed driver can have no more than 3 passengers under the age of 19 in the car.

Texting

304.820.1 – No person 21 years of age or younger operating a moving vehicle upon Missouri highways shall, by means of a hand-held electronic wireless communications device, send, read or write a text message or an electronic message.

Alcohol

577.500.1  –  Makes it illegal for any person under age 21 to operate a vehicle with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system. One who pleads guilty to an alcohol or controlled substance charge shall have their driving privilege suspended or revoked.   Abuse and Lose